Skip to content

Beyrouth – My Unsuitable Man

20 November , 2013

After yesterday’s bombing in Beirut, again, I remembered this old post which just sums up the fragility all over again.

Our Woman in Havana

It was a dangerous love from the second I set eyes on you. Everyone knew it could never last.

You had been fascinating me from afar for years, like the intoxicating whisper of a stranger who knows he can thrill. I knew you were daring me to touch you, to come close to you and to feel the heat of your breathe on my exposed neck. And when I finally landed in your arms, my cheeks flushed with excitement, you enveloped me with the passion of a man who I knew could never keep a single promise. But still, I came towards you, heady with the adventure of an eastern land, knowing that you were what my mother would call an “unsuitable man”: The kind of man who blames the telephone lines for failing to call, a man who has so many versions of the truth that he can never…

View original post 626 more words

From → Politics

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

